National Vegetarian Week
Wake up to an exciting and tasty lifestyle
Wake up to veggie products
The only legally registered trademark for vegetarian products and services. Millions of people regard this symbol as a trustworthy guide to what is suitable for vegetarians.
Whenever you see the Vegetarian Society Approved symbol – you might be doing the shopping, buying a cookery book, or having a meal in a café or restaurant – you can be sure that the product is 100% suitable for vegetarians.
Products that are Vegetarian Society Approved must not include any meat, fish, or genetically modified ingredients. If eggs are included they must be free-range, and the product must not have been tested on animals. All of a product’s ingredients are carefully checked, and a visit to the manufacturer is often made, before the Vegetarian Society will put its label on it. Vanessa Brown, Head of Corporate Relations, answers a few frequently asked questions.
How long has the Vegetarian Society Approved symbol existed? “It was first registered as an official trademark in 1969 and was probably the first-ever food accreditation label.”
How was the Vegetarian Society Approved symbol designed? “It began as a sketch of a letter V which resembled a sprouting seedling, with the words ‘live and let live’ underneath. It has been slowly developed into the world-famous ‘V’ symbol.”
At what stage does a manufacturer usually approach the Vegetarian Society for product approval? “The product development stage is popular, or when packaging is about to change.”
What happens if a product changes its ingredients after it has been approved? “The manufacturer lets us know which ingredients have changed and we investigate. It's very rare that we have to retract approval. Once a product has been approved the manufacturer is usually keen to keep the product vegetarian and retain its approved status.”
Can anyone apply to have their products approved by the Vegetarian Society? “Anyone can apply. We work with a diverse range of clients. Some of them, (eg McDonald’s, Dalepak, Burger King and Beefeater) also produce meat products. We also work with many of the major supermarkets.”
What is the most unusual product you have ever been asked to approve? “Veggie black pudding! Black pudding usually has animal blood and intestines in it, the other unusual one is veggie haggis.”
Visit www.vegsocapproved.com for more information.
Notes to editors:
- Contact the press office for more info, interviews or graphics