The Vegetarian Society defines a vegetarian as; "Someone living on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with or without the use of dairy products and eggs. A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish* or slaughter by-products"
*Shellfish are typically ‘a sea animal covered with a shell’. We take shellfish to mean;
- Crustaceans (hard external shell) Large – e.g. lobsters, crayfish, crabs, small – e.g. prawns, shrimps
- Molluscs (most are protected by a shell) E.g. mussels, oysters, winkles, limpets, clams, etc. Also includes cephalopods such as cuttlefish, squid, octopus.
There are different types of Vegetarian;
Lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat both dairy products and eggs, this is the most common type of vegetarian diet.
Lacto-vegetarians eat dairy products but avoid eggs.
Vegans do not eat any products which are derived from animals, i.e. no meat, fish, dairy or eggs.
Many vegetarians eating eggs will eat only free-range, this is due to welfare objections to the intensive farming of hens. Through its Vegsoc Approved trade mark, the Vegetarian Society only endorses products containing free-range eggs. Some individuals may be vegetarian for religious reasons. Jains for example, are either lacto-vegetarian or vegan, while some Hindus and Bhuddists may chose to practice a vegetarian diet.
Any questions regarding this information sheet please contact email@example.com | Last updated June 2010