Food and drink fact sheets:


Fact sheet index

Follow us:

Alcohol

Many alcoholic drinks, such as beer and wine, will have been clarified (fined) using animal derived products, causing concern for vegetarians and vegans.

Beer

  • 3 glasses of alcoholCask conditioned ales need fining, and this is typically done by adding isinglass (from the swim bladders of fish).

  • Bottled, naturally conditioned beers will not always have been treated with isinglass.

  • Keg beers and lagers, canned beers and some bottled beers are pasteurised and sometimes use isinglass for fining.

Cider

  • Some ciders are fined using gelatine.

Wine and fortified wine

  • Some wines are fined using animal derived products, although there are non-animal alternatives available.

  • Many organic wines do not use animal derived finings but if you are unsure check with the manufacturer.
  • Some port may be fined using gelatine.

Spirits and liquers

  • Most spirits do not use animal products in their production.
Vegetarian and vegan alcohol availability

Check for vegetarian/vegan labelling, however this may be down to the manufacturer’s own interpretation of what is suitable for vegetarians/vegans. For a full guarantee of product suitability, the Vegetarian Society approves numerous brands of alcoholic beverages which can be viewed on our approved website www.vegsocapproved.com.

Find out more

In-depth factsheetsYou can find out more about how alcohol is fined and the processes involved by reading the in-depth fact sheet on alcohol.

 

 

Online Community
Forums
E-newsletters
Sign-up to the site
E-cards
Quick polls

Join and Support Us
Join or renew online
Members' Area
Donate
Fundraising
Shop
Leave a legacy

 

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358, Registered Company No. 959115 (England and Wales)

Google+ 

//]]>