Food and drink fact sheets:


Fact sheet index

Follow us:

Cheese

Vegetarian cheeses are manufactured using rennet from fungal/bacterial sources or genetically modified micro-organisms. The traditional source of rennet is the stomach of slaughtered newly-born calves.

Cheese Some cheeses are not suitable for vegetarians as they are always made using animal rennet. These are:

  • Parmesan
  • Gran Padano
  • Gorgonzola

There are several substitutes for calf rennet and around 90% of hard cheese made in the UK is suitable for vegetarians. There is no particular type of cheese that is exclusively vegetarian so check the label to make sure of suitability.

 

Vegetarian Society Approved logoTo ensure cheese is suitable for vegetarians look for the Vegetarian Society approved trademark, or search the Vegetarian Society approved website

 

Find out more

In-depth factsheetsYou can find out more about cheese and production methods by reading the in-depth cheese fact sheet.

 

Online Community
Forums
E-newsletters
Sign-up to the site
E-cards
Quick polls

Join and Support Us
Join or renew online
Members' Area
Donate
Fundraising
Shop
Leave a legacy

 

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358, Registered Company No. 959115 (England and Wales)

Google+