Sainsbury’s 10 Vegetable Gyoza with a soy and ginger: may contain prawn
13th January 2020
It has been brought to our attention that Sainsbury’s 10 Vegetable Gyoza with soy and ginger dip may contain prawn.
As a precautionary measure, Sainsbury’s is asking customers who have purchased this product and have an allergy or an intolerance to prawn (crustaceans), to return it to their nearest Sainsbury’s store, where they will receive a full refund.
Affected products have a best before date of June 2021, an SKU of 7862858, and additional product numbers of 17519 and VN 381 IV 078.
For any concerns or questions regarding this, please contact Sainsbury’s Careline on 0800 636262.
Three Loyd Grossman sauces not suitable for vegetarians
6th September 2019
It has been brought to our attention that Loyd Grossman Thai Green Curry Sauce, Loyd Grossman Thai Red Curry Sauce, and Loyd Grossman Tomato and Smoked Bacon have all been labelled as suitable for vegetarians in error.
Premier Foods, owner of the Loyd Grossman brand, told us:
“The statement ‘suitable for vegetarians’ was recently incorrectly printed on the label of Loyd Grossman Thai Green Curry 350g, Loyd Grossman Red Thai Curry 350g and Loyd Grossman Tomato and Smoked Bacon 350g.
New labels have been designed without the suitable for vegetarians symbol and are in the process of being printed. Unfortunately as stock of product has already been produced using the old label, it will be a short while before new labels will be found on shelf. Trading Standards are aware and supportive of the steps we are taking to quickly rectify this.
It is disappointing that this occurred, despite the comprehensive precautions we take to avoid an incident of this nature. Please accept our sincere apologies for any confusion this has caused.”
Vegetarian consumers who have purchased any of these products in error should contact Premier Foods’ Consumer Care Line on 0800 032 7111 for further advice.
It has been brought to our attention that Juici Patties Stew Peas Patty, a product licensed to carry the Vegetarian Society Approved vegan trademark, has the warning “may contain small bones”. We have been in touch with the product manufacturer, Cleone Foods, and they have confirmed this wording has been added to the product packaging in error. There is no risk to consumers of small bones turning up in Juici Patties Stew Peas Patty.
Consumers with concerns about Juici Patties Stew Peas Patty should contact Cleone Foods directly on 0121 551 2772.
Quorn Chilled Cocktail Sausages: product recall
26th July 2019
Quorn Foods has recalled their Quorn Chilled Cocktail Sausages (180g) because they may contain small pieces of metal. Affected products are those with a Use By date of July 27, July 28 and July 30.
The Food Standards Agency advises consumers who have purchased the affected product not to eat it and instead return it to the store from where it was bought for a full refund.
Delphi Tzatziki not suitable for vegetarians: contains gelatine
31st May 2019
Some batches of Delphi Cooling Tzatziki are incorrectly labelled with the Vegetarian Society Approved vegetarian trademark. This product contains gelatine.
This product was previously manufactured without gelatine and was licensed to carry our trademark at that time. Delphi changed the product formulation, and our trademark was left on the product packaging in error.
Delphi has told us they are taking immediate steps to rectify the error, which only affects a limited number of tzatziki batches produced during May 2019. They have apologised for the error, and have recalled the product from shelves. The affected batch numbers, which can be found on the product’s cardboard sleeve next to the Use By date, are: D01219121, D01219122, D01219123, D01219127, D01219128, D01219130, D01219133, D01219134, D01219136, D01219141, D01219143, D01219148, D01219150.
Delphi said: “[We are] changing our supply chain with immediate effect, and tzatziki produced from June 2019 will have the correct labelling information. We will continue to make our tzatziki dip only from authentic Greek strained yogurt (suitable for vegetarians) from June 2019, and are putting in place new controls and procedures to ensure our supply chain has the appropriate approval before any future changes are made.”
If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Delphi by email (email@example.com) or by calling +44(0)207 281 2206.
Myprotein White Chocolate and Almond Cookie: not suitable for vegetarians
11th April 2019
It has been brought to our attention that some boxes containing Myprotein White Chocolate and Almond Cookies have been printed with the Vegetarian Society Approved vegetarian trademark. Myprotein White Chocolate and Almond Cookies are not licensed by us because they contain gelatine.
Myprotein White Chocolate and Almond Cookies are sold as individually wrapped units, and the cookies themselves are not labelled as being suitable for vegetarians. It is only the outer boxes, containing 12 cookies each, that have been misprinted. Affected boxes have a Best Before End date of 09-03-20 and a Lot number of 09-01-19.
Myprotein has provided the following statement in response:
“Myprotein is a BRC AA rated manufacturer which prides itself on maintaining the highest industry standards. We take this matter very seriously and have acted immediately by correcting the external packaging of the few effected boxes. An internal investigation was swiftly conducted, the root cause has been identified and corrected. We welcome any of our customers to contact us with any questions on +44 (0) 161 813 1487 or via the contact centre at our website.”
Pukka Potato Cheese and Leek Pie: may contain chicken
1st March 2019
It has been brought to our attention that some Pukka Chicken & Gravy pies have accidentally been packed into Pukka Potato, Cheese and Leek pie cartons.
Pukka Potato Cheese and Leek Pies are licensed to carry the Vegetarian Society Approved vegetarian trademark.
A representative from Pukka told us:
“We have received complaints of Chicken & Gravy filling in products labelled as Potato, Cheese and Leek.
Our initial investigations have shown that it is likely only a small amount of product is affected. We take all complaints like this very seriously and have already conducted a thorough investigation and changed our processes to ensure this doesn’t happen again.”
Potentially affected products have a Use By date of 07 March 2019 and a Batch Code of 9055. (The Batch Code can be found directly under the Use By date.)
Consumers with further questions or concerns about Pukka Potato, Cheese and Leek Pie should contact Pukka directly on 0116 264 4004 or via firstname.lastname@example.org.
Zipvit Saw Palmetto capsules mislabelled as containing gelatin
13th February 2019
Zipvit Saw Palmetto Capsules with Saw Palmetto 500 mg, Pumpkin Seed 250 mg & Zinc became licensed to carry the Vegetarian Society Approved vegan trademark in late 2018 after Zipvit took the very positive step of replacing their gelatin capsules with vegan-friendly capsules instead.
We have been notified that, due to a manufacturing error, a limited number of vegan-friendly Zipvit Saw Palmetto Capsules being sold via Amazon are in mislabelled bottles that include the word “gelatin” in the ingredients list. We have been advised by Zipvit that all non-vegan stock of this product was removed from circulation prior to it being licensed to carry the Vegetarian Society Approved vegan trademark.
Vegetarians and vegans can be assured that Zipvit Saw Palmetto Capsules with Saw Palmetto 500 mg, Pumpkin Seed 250 mg & Zinc with a Best Before Date of 09/2020 or later are entirely suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Anyone with further questions or concerns about this product should contact Zipvit’s customer care line on 0800 0282875.
Sign up for our newsletter