Food alerts

Wrong labelling on a product? Something that used to be OK no longer suitable for vegetarians? We'll post any information we have on this page so keep watching or subscribe to the RSS feed.



Recent alerts RSS Feed
Product recall: by Sainsbury’s 10 Vegetable Spring Roll Selection - may contain prawns
05/12/2017

Sainsbury’s is recalling their by Sainsbury’s 10 Vegetable Spring Roll Selection (210g pack) because it contains undeclared prawns which are not mentioned on the label. 

Affected products have Use By dates of between 30 November 2017 and 8 December 2017. 

Consumers are advised return this product to the store from where it was bought for a full refund.

 

Müller Halloween Limited Edition Corner Yogurts not suitable for vegetarians: carmine
16/10/2017

The Vegetarian Society has been alerted by a member of the public that Müller Halloween Limited Edition Corner Yogurts (Bar Code 4 025500 197933) are labelled as being ‘suitable for vegetarians’ despite the product’s Strawberry Flavoured Yogurt with Skull Shaped Biscuits on the Side including the non-vegetarian ingredient carmine.

In response to the Vegetarian Society’s queries about this product, a Müller representative has stated:
“The majority of our Müller Corner yogurts are suitable for vegetarians… As you’ve highlighted, our strawberry flavour yogurt contains the colour carmine. Each pot inside the pack is individually labelled, and where we multipack Corner products containing both vegetarian and non-vegetarian varieties, we position the suitable for vegetarians logo beside the variety that is suitable for vegetarians as we’ve done in this case for the Halloween edition. We are sorry that this has caused any confusion for our vegetarian consumers. Please be assured that this will be addressed for any future limited edition products.”

Vegetarians who have purchased this product in error should phone Müller’s Consumer Care team on 01630 692000 or email consumers@muller.co.uk for further advice.

Superdrug’s Some Body Chocolate Mint food supplement not suitable for vegetarians
16/10/2017

The Vegetarian Society has been alerted by a member of the public that Superdrug’s Some Body Chocolate Mint food supplement is labelled as being ‘suitable for vegetarians’ despite the product including ‘Marine Collagen (Fish)’.

In response communication from the Vegetarian Society about this matter, Superdrug confirmed that the product has been removed from their website and an investigation is being undertaken into how the labelling error occurred.

Vegetarians who have purchased Some Body Chocolate Mint food supplement in error should phone Superdrug’s Customer Team on 0345 671 0709 for further advice.

 

 

£One Pounders Chewy Cinnamon sweets not suitable for vegetarians
05/10/2017

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society’s attention that £One Pounders Cinnamon Chews have mistakenly had our Vegetarian Society Approved trademark placed on the packaging. Cinnamon Chews contain carmine, a non-vegetarian colourant, also known as cochineal or E120. Many of Golden Casket’s products are licensed to carry the Vegetarian Society Approved trademark, but Cinnamon Chews is not one of those products. 

Golden Casket, manufacturers of £One Pounder Cinnamon Chews, has made the following statement:

"Golden Casket would like to advise consumers that, due to an error on our packing line, £One Pounders Chewy Cinnamon sweets have mistakenly been labelled with the Vegetarian Society Approved trademark. Our Chewy Cinnamon sweets include carmine as a colourant and, therefore, are not suitable for vegetarians. We regret this error and have taken steps to ensure that a similar mistake does not occur in the future.   

Vegetarian consumers who have been affected by this matter should email enquiries@goldencasket.co.uk with an image of the barcode section of the product so that Golden Casket may issue them with a full refund or a replacement product from our list of Vegetarian Society Approved products. Alternatively, consumers may phone Golden Casket on 01475 721099 for further advice."

 

 

Peter’s Food Service recalls various baked goods products as they may contain glass fragments
11/08/2017

Peter’s Food Service Ltd has recalled a range of products, including two vegetarian pasty products, because they may contain glass fragments.The vegetarian products affected are:

Peter’s Deli Cheese and Onion Pasty: Pack size: 150 grams, Use By date: 20 August 2017, Batch code: L6 220  

Peter’s Cheese and Onion Pasty: Pack size: 150 grams, Use By date: 20 August 2017, Batch code: L6 220  

The Food Standards Agency advises that if you have bought either of the above products do not eat them. Instead, return them to the store from where they were purchased for a full refund.

Quorn™ Chicken & Mushroom Pies - wrong foil but still vegetarian
04/08/2017

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society's attention that a small number of Quorn™ Chicken & Mushroom Pies have been manufactured with the wrong foil covering. Quorn™ has said in a statement: 

"Quorn™ Chicken & Mushroom Pies 235g Use By 02 Aug – a number of these pies have been incorrectly manufactured in foil tins embossed with the word ‘Peters’. Please be assured that the pies are Quorn™ Chicken & Mushroom Pies, which are accredited by the Vegetarian Society."

Consumers with any further concerns about this matter should contact Quorn™'s Customer Services team on 0845 602 9000 or customer.services@quornfoods.com.

Macsween of Edinburgh Ltd recalls various products, including vegetarian haggis
18/07/2017

Macsween of Edinburgh Ltd has recalled a number of its products, including its Vegetarian Haggis (1.36kg), Delicious Everyday Vegetarian Haggis (227g, 454g and 500g) and In a Hurry Vegetarian Haggis (130g). This recall is a precautionary measure because of concerns over the company’s procedures in place to control Clostridium botulinum.

Consumers who have purchased any of the aforementioned Macsween vegetarian haggis products with a Use By date of up to and including 18/08/2017 are advised to return the product to where it was bought for a full refund.

Other non-vegetarian Macsween products have also been affected and are subject to recall too. 

Bonds of London Fizzy Sour Dummies vegetarian-friendly despite labelling error
05/04/2017

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society’s attention that a small number of packets of Bonds of London’s Fizzy Sour Dummies, which are a Vegetarian Society Approved product, have mistakenly had the words “beef gelatine” included in the ingredients list. Bonds has apologised for this error and confirmed that they are addressing the matter by introducing more stringent procedures for double-checking their products’ artwork. 

In order for a product to be Vegetarian Society Approved, it must:

     • Be free from animal flesh (meat, fowl and fish or shell fish) or any ingredient resulting from slaughter, including          animal rennet.

     • Contain only free-range eggs (where eggs are used).

     • Be GMO free - no genetically modified ingredients.

     • Be cruelty free – no testing on animals.

     • Have no cross-contamination during the production process.

Vegetarians who remain concerned about the suitability of Fizzy Sour Dummies should contact Bonds of London’s customer service team directly on 01623 446000 or custserv@bondsconf.com for further advice. 

Marks & Spencer 6 Vegetable Spring Rolls may include duck
09/03/2017

The Vegetarian Society has been notified that Marks & Spencer 6 Vegetable Spring Rolls with a Use By date of 10 February 2017, Bar Code M0090056, are labelled as being “suitable for vegetarians” and include duck.

Despite the Use By date for this product having passed, they have a “suitable for home freezing” label, meaning that some vegetarians may have them in their freezers at home and are, therefore, advised not to consume this product.   

Marks & Spencer has made the following statement:

“This was an error that affected a small number of products. As soon as it was spotted we instructed stores to remove the products from shelf and, following a thorough investigation with our supplier, we have now put in place additional procedures to prevent it happening again. If there are any queries, customers should go to their local store or contact our customer service centre on 0333 014 8555.”

 

 

 

 

Bonds of London’s Strawberry Bites not suitable for vegetarians
03/02/2017

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society’s attention that Bonds of London’s Strawberry Bites have mistakenly had our Vegetarian Society Approved trademark placed on the packaging. Strawberry Bites contain E120, a non-vegetarian colourant, also known as “cochineal” or “carmine”. Many of Bonds of London’s products are licensed to carry the Vegetarian Society Approved trademark, but Strawberry Bites is not one of those products. 

Bonds of London has made the following statement:

“We would like to thank the Vegetarian Society for issuing an alert to its members and supporters – it has been brought to our attention that the product, Strawberry Bites, is incorrectly labelled as ‘suitable for vegetarians’ yet also states it contains E120. Clearly these statements are incompatible. This error has already been rectified and the appropriate action was taken to ensure that further checks are in place to ensure the labelling of our products is correct. A small amount of affected products may still be available in the market place, and we are working hard to minimise the effect on our consumers.”

Vegetarians who have purchased this product in error should contact Bonds of London’s customer service team on custserv@bondsconf.com for further advice.

Sainsbury’s 12 Party Vegetable Spring Rolls may contain duck
20/10/2016

The Vegetarian Society has been contacted by a member of the public claiming that a recently-purchased packet of 12 Party Vegetable Spring Rolls from Sainsbury’s frozen section actually contained duck. When the Vegetarian Society contacted Sainsbury’s customer service team about this matter, we were informed that “five or six” complaints of a similar nature would need to come in before Sainsbury’s would consider a product recall. Vegetarians are, therefore, warned to use caution when purchasing Sainsbury’s frozen 12 Party Vegetable Spring Rolls with the barcode number 0179 9781 and a Best Before date of December 2017.

When asked for further comment about this matter, a Sainsbury’s spokesperson said, “We’re very sorry for this customer’s poor experience and are investigating the complaint with our supplier to ensure this doesn’t happen again.” The Vegetarian Society will continue to follow this situation closely. 

 

 

Lidl’s Milbona Strawberry Rice not suitable for vegetarians
11/10/2016

The Vegetarian Society has been alerted by a member of the public that Lidl’s Milbona Strawberry Rice (Bar Code 2063 6609) is labelled as being ‘suitable for vegetarians’ despite including the non-vegetarian ingredient carmine.

Lidl has not responded to the Vegetarian Society’s request for a statement about this matter. Vegetarians who have purchased this product in error should phone Lidl’s customer service department on 0800 977 7766 for further advice. 

Quorn soup recall: Red Thai Soup and Moroccan Soup not vegan
28/09/2016

Quorn is recalling its Chilled Meat Free Red Thai Soup and Chilled Meat Free Moroccan Soup from Sainsbury’s stores due to both products incorrectly containing Quorn Standard Pieces instead of Quorn Vegan Pieces. Quorn Standard Pieces contain the allergen Egg, which is not declared on the packaging.This makes the product unsuitable for vegans and vegetarians who do not include egg in their diets, as well as being unsuitable for anyone with an allergy to egg, so they should not be consumed.

Quorn has advised that Quorn Meat Free Red Thai Soup with Use By Dates of 14 Oct 2016 & 17 Oct 2016 or Quorn Meat Free Moroccan Soup with Use By Dates of 14 Oct 2016 & 17 Oct 2016 should be returned to your retailer for a full refund.

 

 

Asda own-brand pesto recall: not suitable for vegetarians
15/08/2016

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society's attention that several of Asda's own-brand pesto products have been labelled as "suitable for vegetarians" despite including Grana Padano, a cheese that is never suitable for vegetarians. 

An Asda spokesperson said: 

"Asda has withdrawn its own brand pesto due to the products being labelled incorrectly as suitable for vegetarians. Affected products are: 

Ricotta and Red Pepper Pesto 190g, batch codes LP163 and LP203   

Green Pesto 190g, batch codes LP162, LP200 and LP201 

Red Pesto 190g, batch codes LP163 and LP218 

Reduced Fat Pesto 190g, batch codes LP163 and LP200 

We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused. If you would like any further information, please contact Asda customer relations on 0800 952 0101."

 

 

Co-op Simply Cheese and Tomato Pasta incorrectly labelled
01/08/2016

Co-op is recalling a batch of its Simply Cheese and Tomato Pasta because it contains chicken and mustard which are not mentioned on the label. This means that the product is a possible risk for anyone with an allergy or intolerance to mustard.

Product name: Co-op Simply Cheese and Tomato Pasta

Product brand: Co-op Loved by Us

Pack size: 275g

'Use by' date: 2 August 2016

If you have bought the above product and have an allergy or intolerance to mustard do not eat it. Instead, return it to the store from where you bought it for a full refund.

Co-op is recalling the above product from customers and has contacted the relevant allergy support organisations, which will tell their members about the recall. The company has also issued a point-of-sale notice to its customers. A copy of the product recall notice can be viewed here.

Two mislabelled Schär frozen products withdrawn from sale
28/07/2016

The Vegetarian Society has been contacted by Dr Schär UK Ltd with the following notification:

Two products – Schär Frozen Bonta d’Italià Gluten Free Cannelloni with Spinach and Ricotta 300g and Schär Frozen Bontà d’Italia Gluten Free Caserecce with Pesto 300g – have been withdrawn from sale because they were mis-labelled as “vegetarian” while containing a non-vegetarian cheese. 

While this does not represent a safety issue for consumers, we are extremely sorry this error occurred and apologise to all affected customers.

The error has been rectified and new product that contains vegetarian cheese will be on retailers’ shelves in the coming weeks. 

Consumers can claim a refund if they purchased either product on the basis of it being suitable for vegetarians. Affected batches are products which list the ingredient Grana Padano cheese on the packaging. Consumers should send packaging along with their name and full address details to FREEPOST RRLC UHST GGBY Dr Schär UK Ltd, Station Court, 442 Stockport Road, Warrington WA4 2GW.

 

 

CNP ProShake Strawberry not suitable for vegetarians
20/07/2016

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society's attention that CNP’s Strawberry ProShake is labelled as being suitable for vegetarians despite its ingredients including carmine, a non-vegetarian colourant. 

CNP has provided the Vegetarian Society with the following statement:

“CNP Professional, the suppliers of CNP ProShake Strawberry, would like to thank the Vegetarian Society for issuing an alert to its members – it has been brought to our attention that the product is incorrectly labelled as ‘suitable for vegetarians’ yet also states it contains ‘Carmine Red colouring’. Clearly these statements are incompatible so we would advise that all vegetarians, if not already doing so, purchase the alternative Vanilla or Chocolate ProShake flavours. We will make the necessary product amendments and introduce at the earliest opportunity. If any vegetarian has bought this product in error, we would ask that they contact our consumer care team on 0161 368 0942 and we will arrange to replace the product. We would like to thank the Vegetarian Society and its members for their guidance in this matter.”

UPDATE: Encona Mexican Smokey Jalapeno Sauce suitable for vegetarians despite labelling error
11/07/2016

Following the posting of our Food Alert about Encona  Mexican Smokey Jalapeno Sauce not being suitable for vegetarians because of “anchovies” appearing in the ingredients list, the Vegetarian Society received the following statement from Econa:   

“Encona Mexican Smokey Jalapeno Sauce contains a compound ingredient ‘Worcester Sauce’ (2.5%). Since November 2015 vegetarian Worcester Sauce has been used. We updated the label and included the vegetarian claim but failed to update the sub ingredients correctly. It was May 2016 before we noticed the error and we immediately ceased production. All Encona Mexican Smokey Jalapeno Sauce manufactured since June 2016 has the updated label. Members of the public who purchase Encona Mexican Smokey Jalapeno Sauce manufactured after November 2015, with a Best Before date of 11/2016 or later, can be confident that it is suitable for vegetarians. Product manufactured prior to November 2015 made NO 'Suitable for Vegetarians' claim.   

We are disappointed that the labelling error was not detected by our internal processes. We apologise to consumers for any unnecessary confusion caused.”   

Vegetarian consumers with any further questions or concerns about Encona Mexican Smokey Jalapeno Sauce are advised to ring Encona’s consumer support line on 01707 326 555. 

 

 

Encona Mexican Smokey Jalapeno Sauce not suitable for vegetarians
08/07/2016

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society's attention that Encona's Mexican Smokey Jalapeno Sauce is labelled as being suitable for vegetarians despite the ingredients list including "anchovies (fish)". 

The Vegetarian Society has contacted Encona to alert them to the situation. 

Product recall: Waitrose Duchy Organic Spiced Carrot and Parsnip Soup
20/06/2016

Waitrose is recalling its Duchy Organic Spiced Carrot and Parsnip Soup with a use by date of 1 July 2016. 

In its product recall notice Waitrose stated, "As a precaution, this product is being recalled, as a small number of pots have been incorrectly filled with Waitrose Duchy Organic Chicken and Spelt Broth. Any customers who have an allergy to gluten or celery, or are vegetarian, should not consume this product but return it to Waitrose for a full refund. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. For further information, customers should call Waitrose Customer Services Department on 0800 188884." 

Product recall: Asda 4 Vegetarian Vegetable Burgers
20/06/2016

Asda is recalling its Asda 4 Vegetarian Vegetable Burgers with a ‘best before’ date of 6 April 2017 because the products may contain pieces of hard green plastic. This means these products are a possible risk to health.

Asda issued a recall notice on Friday, warning there was a "small risk" of contamination to its Asda 4 Vegetarian Vegetable Burgers, which cost £1.50. In its recall notice Asda said, "If you have purchased some of the Asda 4 Vegetarian Vegetable Burgers with the above best before date, please bring it back to your nearest store where you will be given a full refund.You do not need your receipt. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused. If you would like any further information please contact: Asda Customer Relations - 0800 952 0101."

The Ludlow Nut Company's liquorice not suitable for vegetarians
19/04/2016

The Ludlow Nut Company’s liquorice, which contains gelatine, has mistakenly had the Vegetarian Society Approved trademark placed on the packaging. Many of The Ludlow Nut Company’s products are Vegetarian Society Approved, but their liquorice is not one of those products.

The Ludlow Nut Company has made the following statement:

“It has been brought to our attention that some of our liquorice in 65g, 125g & 250g sizes has been placed in packaging marked as being suitable for vegetarians when it is not. We sincerely regret this error and have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again. If you have been affected by this error please contact us on 01584 876512 to arrange a full refund.”

SMA Pro First Infant Milk powder and SMA Pro Follow-On Milk powder no longer suitable for vegetarians
02/03/2016

SMA, one of the UK's most widely-available brands of infant milks, has announced that two of their milk powders are no longer suitable for vegetarians. They have sent the Vegetarian Society the following statement:

"We have introduced the new SMA Pro range of baby milks, based on our ongoing research into infant nutrition, and to bring our formulas in-line with the latest paediatric recommendations and guidelines. The changes to the formula, and the addition of new key ingredients, unfortunately means that the SMA Pro First Infant Milk powder and SMA Pro Follow on Milk powder are no longer suitable for vegetarians. The liquids were not previously suitable for vegetarians, so have not been affected by this change. However, we do still have a number of products in the range that are suitable for vegetarians, and our Careline team are happy to advise on which products these are. To speak to a member of our Careline team, please contact 0800 0 81 81 80."

National Trust's seasonal Mulled Wine and Whiskey Truffles not suitable for vegetarians
16/02/2016

The Vegetarian Society was alerted by a member of the public that National Trust's Mulled Wine and Whiskey Truffles are labelled as "suitable for vegetarians" despite carmine, a non-vegetarian colourant, being listed as one of the product's ingredients. The Vegetarian Society has been in touch with National Trust about this matter and they have pulled all remaining stock of the Mulled Wine and Whiskey Truffles from sale. They have also circulated literature to all National Trust shops with the following statement :

"It has been brought to our attention that our Mulled Wine and Whisky Truffles are not suitable for vegetarians. If you have purchased the truffles on the basis that they are suitable for vegetarians, please return to any of our shops for a full refund. If you purchased these through our online shop, please contact them direct for a full refund on 0300 123 2025."

Bassett's Mint Favourites no longer suitable for vegetarians
15/01/2016

The Vegetarian Society has been contacted by Mondelez International, manufacturer of Bassett's Mint Favourites, with the following statement:

"Mondelez International will be adding a mint chew, containing porcine gelatine, to its Bassett's Mint Favourites which will be landing in store this month.
 
The mint chew will replace the mint toffee currently included in the assortments pack. The new mix will be clearly highlighted on pack with a label highlighting the new sweet, along with an image of the mint chew. The mint chew will contain porcine gelatine, and this ingredient will be clearly highlighted on the back of the pack; all the other sweets in the assortment pack do not contain porcine gelatine."

Vegetarians are advised to carefully check the packaging of Bassett's Mint Favourites prior to consuming, and to be particularly cautious when purchasing this product from online retailers whose product information may not be updated promptly.

Cooperative Food Cheese and Tomato Tortellini may contain ham
19/11/2015

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society's attention that a labelling error has occurred with a batch of Cooperative Food's tortellini, resulting in the product being labelled as "Cheese and Tomato Tortellini" when the package actually contains Cheese and Ham Tortellini. The affected batch has the following information on the product packaging:

Best Before Date: 4 December 2015

Batch: 04421 C11752/2/1

The Cooperative has recalled this product and is currently conducting an investigation into how this error occurred.

Vegetarians who have purchased Cooperative Food's Cheese and Tomato Tortellini matching this description, should ring the Cooperative's Care Line on 0800 0686 727.

UPDATE: Lidl's Deluxe Olive Pesto not suitable for vegetarians
18/11/2015

In a statement to the Vegetarian Society regarding their Deluxe Olive Pesto being labelled as "suitable for vegetarians" despite the product including anchovy paste, Lidl has said:

"Product quality is of the highest priority to Lidl UK. Upon discovering that the information on our Deluxe Premium Pesto label was incorrect we withdrew effected products from sale. We would like to sincerely apologise to our customers for this error and can confirm that this has now been rectified.

Our refund policy states that any food product that is found to be unsuitable can be returned to the store where we will be happy to offer a full refund."

Vegetarians with any further questions or concerns about Lidl's Deluxe Olive Pesto should contact Lidl's Customer Service team on 0800 977 7766.

 

Lidl’s Deluxe Olive Pesto not suitable for vegetarians
17/11/2015

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society’s attention that some jars of Lidl’s Deluxe Olive Pesto have been labelled as "suitable for vegetarians" despite the product containing anchovy paste. Lidl has advised the Vegetarian Society that the mislabelled product was recalled on 26 October; however, it appears that some mislabelled stock is still in circulation.

The Vegetarian Society awaits a further statement from Lidl about this matter, and advises any vegetarians who purchased this product in error to contact Lidl’s Customer Service team on 0800 977 7766 for further guidance on how to obtain a full refund.

Aunt Bessie's Dumpling Mix no longer suitable for vegetarians
12/10/2015

Vegetarians are advised that Aunt Bessie's Dumpling Mix, a product that was previously suitable for vegetarians, has undergone a recipe change and is now made with beef suet. While the product's new packaging reflects this change, online retailers such as Tesco, Sainsbury's, Waitrose and Ocado have yet to update their own information about this product. Their websites still include the dumpling mix's old ingredients list and the words "suitable for vegetarians". There is, therefore, a real risk that vegetarians who do their shopping online may purchase this product in error.

Aunt Bessie's has been notified of the situation.

Vegetarians who have purchased this product in error due to inaccurate information on a retailer's website should contact the retailer directly.

Danone Oykos Strawberry Yogurt mislabelled as vegetarian
16/09/2015

The Vegetarian Society was alerted by a member of the public that Danone Oykos Strawberry Yogurt, sold in packs of 4 x 110g pots, have been mislabelled as "suitable for vegetarians" despite including the non-vegetarian ingredient of cochineal. Contacted by the Vegetarian Society about this matter, Danone made the following statement:

"We are very sorry that our strawberry Oykos pack states that it is suitable for vegetarians when it is not. This was a mistake when the packs were printed and as soon as we realised the issue we took steps to ensure that all further packaging coming from our factory has all the correct information on pack."

Danone advises that any vegetarians who have purchased this product in error should ring the Danone Dairy Careline  on 0808 144 9451 between the hours of 9am and 5pm, Monday to Friday, for a full refund.



 
 

Hotel Chocolat Tasting Club boxes K124 and D191 not suitable for vegetarians
19/08/2015

The Vegetarian Society has been notified that the menus in Hotel Chocolat’s Tasting Club boxes K124 and D191 state “suitable for vegetarians” despite the boxes including Cocoa Beer Truffles. Hotel Chocolat’s Cocoa Beer Truffles are not suitable for vegetarians because they are made with beer fined with isinglass.

Hotel Chocolat asks that any vegetarian Tasting Club members affected by this phone the Chocolate Tasting Club on 03444 93 39 33.

M&M’s® Mega not suitable for vegetarians
06/08/2015

The Vegetarian Society was alerted by a member of the public that Limited Edition M&M’s® Mega are labelled as "Suitable for Vegetarians" despite the ingredients list including carmine. The Vegetarian Society contacted Mars, M&M’s® parent company, about this matter and they have come back to us with the following statement:

"We are sorry to say that we mistakenly printed a 'Suitable for Vegetarians' statement on the packaging for M&M’s® Mega 128g pouches, when our M&M’s® products are not actually suitable for vegetarians. We know that the accurate labelling of products is really important to our consumers, as it is to us, and we sincerely apologise for this mistake and for any confusion that it caused. 
 
We would like to assure you that as soon as we became aware of this issue, we took swift action to remove all M&M’s® Mega packs from sale while they were re-stickered, as an interim measure to avoid further confusion.  We also promptly sourced new packaging for all future production, to ensure that any packs that were produced from that point would have the correct labelling – they should be appearing in stores shortly.
 
M&M’s® Mega packs are only available at Asda. All Asda stores were immediately notified of the error and our Mars consumer care team is able to help with consumer enquiries – they can be contacted using the following details:
 
Telephone: 0800 952 0077
Post:  M&M’S MEGA, FREEPOST, MARS CONSUMER CARE
Email: contact@uk.mars.com
 
This labelling issue only affects M&M’s® Mega 128g pouches. No other varieties of M&M’s® or pack formats are affected and M&M’s® Mega are completely safe to eat.
 
If a vegetarian consumer has purchased a pack of M&M’s® Mega, we would be happy to reimburse them with a voucher for another Mars product, which is suitable for vegetarians; we request that the pack or proof of purchase be returned to our freepost address, above.
 
This labelling mistake has been taken very seriously and we are carrying out a full investigation into how this has occurred."

Cooperative Food vegetable samosas may contain chicken
25/06/2015

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society's attention that a batch of Cooperative Food's Loved By Us Vegetable Samosas contains chicken. This product sells for £1.49 and comes in 200g packages.The affected batch has the following information on the product packaging:

Best Before Date: 26 June 2015

Barcode: 5000128978453

Lot code: XFC077/C

Vegetarians who have purchased Cooperative Food's Loved By Us Vegetable Samosas matching this description, should ring the Cooperative's Care Line on 0800 0686 727. 

High5 ProteinBar BananaVanilla may contain gelatine
25/06/2015

High5 ProteinBar BananaVanilla became Vegetarian Society Approved in 2013 when they took the very positive step of removing gelatine from their recipe. It has come to the Vegetarian Society’s attention that a limited number of ProteinBar BananaVanilla containing gelatine are still in circulation. These bars do not carry the Vegetarian Society Approved trademark or the words “suitable for vegetarians” on the packaging.

Vegetarians purchasing ProteinBar BananaVanilla are advised to check the ingredients list before buying. We can confirm that any High5 products bearing the Vegetarian Society Approved trademark are suitable for vegetarians. Vegetarian consumers should contact High5 directly at info@highfive.co.uk should they purchase non-vegetarian High5 ProteinBars BananaVanilla in error.

Udi’s Gluten Free Parmesan and Garlic Bagel Chips: suitable for vegetarians
09/02/2015

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society’s attention that Udi’s Gluten Free Parmesan and Garlic Bagel Chips are labelled as suitable for vegetarians, despite the ingredients list and name of the product including the word “parmesan”. The good news, though, is that Udi’s Parmesan and Garlic Bagel Chips ARE suitable for vegetarians because the cheese used in the product is not actually parmesan but a vegetarian alternative.

Brand Manager for Udi’s Gluten Free, Holly Wales, issued the following statement:

"We would like to confirm that our back of pack claim on the Udi’s Parmesan & Garlic Bagel chips is correct: this product is suitable for vegetarians. This product has been imported from our US range where the Parmesan origins can be used differently, so apologies for any confusion caused. We will be updating the information on shelf strips in store to Medium Fat Hard Cheese & Garlic Bagel Chips, so once again sorry for any inconvenience or confusion caused."

Udi’s has also confirmed that the product’s name will eventually be changed, although its new name is yet to be decided.

Krispy Kreme 3 Pack Chocolates E120-free
20/01/2015

Following our Food Alert about Krispy Kreme’s 3 Pack Chocolates last week, the Vegetarian Society received an update from Krispy Kreme:

“…the packaging for the 3 and 12 chocolate collections is incorrect. The E120 is left over from a previous incarnation of the chocolates which included pink curls as a decoration. From April 2014 the pink curl element of the chocolates has been replaced with a red sugar which is entirely suitable for vegetarians. Krispy Kreme will print correct ingredients stickers for both packs and they will be relabelled accordingly.”

The Vegetarian Society has confirmed with Krispy Kreme that any 3 or 12 packs of Krispy Kreme chocolates with a Best Before Date of December 2014 or earlier DO contain E120. Krispy Kreme chocolates with a Best Before Date of January 2015 or later DO NOT contain E120.

Krispy Kreme 3 Pack Chocolates mislabelled as suitable for vegetarians
15/01/2015

It has been brought to the Vegetarian Society's attention by a member of the public that Krispy Kreme 3 Pack Chocolates are mislabelled as being "suitable for vegetarians" despite the product containing E120 (also known as cochineal or carmine), an ingredient that is never suitable for vegetarians.

Krispy Kreme has been contacted about the situation and offered the following comment:

"Our chocolates are supplied by a third party and not manufactured by us so we are currently liaising with them regarding this."

Walkers Alert - Walkers Tomato Ketchup Flavour Crisps 6 Packs
30/10/2014

We have been advised by Walkers that due to a production error, there are a small number of Walkers Tomato Ketchup Flavour Crisps 6 Packs in market that are incorrectly filled with another product.

This means that the misplaced product is no longer suitable for vegetarians or those avoiding pork in their diet as the product contains pork in the seasoning.

The affected 6 packs carry a Best Before date of 03.01.15 and are coded GBP1 xx 277

Walkers would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to their customers.If you would like any further information, please contact Walkers Consumer Careline on 0800 274777.

Seeds of Change Cherry Tomato and Parmesan Pasta Sauce labelled as suitable for vegetarians
11/09/2014

The Vegetarian Society has been notified that some Seeds of Change Cherry Tomato and Parmesan Pasta Sauce in 350g jars have been labelled as being "suitable for vegetarians" despite the product's inclusion of parmesan.

A statement from the Seeds of Change consumer care team said the following:

"We are aware that the symbol on the packaging stating the product is ‘suitable for vegetarians’ is incorrect.

This error has already been rectified and the appropriate action was taken to ensure that further labelling of this product is correct. A small amount of affected products may still be available in the market place, and we are working hard to minimise the effect on our consumers.

We recognise that this can be misleading and apologise for any inconvenience caused."

Tesco own-brand frozen Thai Style Vegetable Stir Fry may still contain fish
11/09/2014

The Vegetarian Society has recently been notified by two separate members of the public that Tesco's own-brand frozen Thai Style Vegetable Stir Fry is labelled as "suitable for vegetarians" despite it containing fish sauce. The Vegetarian Society was first notified of this packaging error back in March. We contacted Tesco at the time and were advised of the following:

"We immediately investigated this issue and removed the Thai Style Vegetable Stir Fry product from sale, removed depot and store stock and stopped the future supply of this line."

Unfortunately, despite these assurances, six months later the product is still appearing in some Tesco stores.

The Vegetarian Society has contacted Tesco for further comment.

Pringles Roast Chicken & Herbs mislabelled as vegetarian and vegan
02/07/2014

The Vegetarian Society was recently contacted by a consumer who noticed that Pringles Roast Chicken and Herbs packages were labelled as being suitable for vegetarians and vegans despite containing chicken fat and chicken proteins. The Vegetarian Society pursued this with Pringles who has made the following statement:

"Due to an error in the packaging artwork on the Pringles Roast Chicken & Herbs flavour variant, a limited number of cans is incorrectly stating that the product is suitable for vegetarians. For this reason Pringles was withdrawing from sale in the UK and Ireland, a limited number of Pringles Roast Chicken & Herbs cans. The incorrectly labelled product has been in market for only a short period of time - since mid-March 2014.
 
Consumers can be assured that this labelling error does not represent a risk to health and our products continue to meet our high quality standards. No other flavour variant is impacted. However, we recognise that this Pringles Roast Chicken & Herbs label may be misleading to consumers who wish to avoid the consumption of products containing meat derivatives and therefore we were taking corrective action.
 
We have stopped production of Pringles Roast Chicken & Herbs, while correcting this labelling issue; we have stopped the further distribution of all affected stock from our warehouse and we have withdrawn affected product from the retail trade. We apologise sincerely for any distress caused to vegetarians as a result of this error."

-Ends-

Sainsbury's Basics Italian Hard Cheese is vegetarian once again
16/06/2014

We are delighted to report that Sainsbury's has confirmed that their vegetarian Italian Hard Cheese is back in stores after a hiatus of nearly a year. The new Sainsbury's Basics Italian Hard Cheese is clearly labelled as being suitable for vegetarians with a green "V" on the front of the packaging.

Loyd Grossman Puttanesca Sauce 350g - contains anchovies
20/05/2014

It has been brought to our attention that Loyd Grossman Puttanesca Sauce (350g) is labelled as being suitable for vegetarians despite containing anchovies. Having contacted Premier Foods about this, we received the following statement from them:

"Regrettably, the statement 'suitable for vegetarians' printed on the label is incorrect and was caused by an unfortunate error during our artwork origination process. This matter has been brought to the attention of all relevant personnel within our business and new labels are in the process of being printed where the suitable for vegetarians symbol and statement will be removed– unfortunately as stock of product has already been produced using the old label it will be a short while before new labels will be found on shelf."

If you have purchased this product in error, please contact Premier Foods consumer service team on Freephone 0800 389 8548.

Premier Foods has prepared new artwork for Loyd Grossman Puttanesca Sauce, without "suitable for vegetarians" on the label, and anticipate that all incorrectly labelled products will be out of the marketplace by the end of the summer.

Loyd Grossman Creamy Mushroom & Thyme pasta sauce for One: contains Parmigiano Reggiano
01/04/2014

We received the following statement today from Premier Foods in regard to Loyd Grossman Creamy Mushroom & Thyme pasta sauce for One:

"...the 'suitable for vegetarians' statement has been printed on the label incorrectly. The reason for this is that the authentic parmesan cheese (Parmigiano Reggiano) used in the sauce is made with an animal rennet (milk coagulating enzyme) which is not suitable for a vegetarian diet.

Hence in summation  the issue is the presence of the Parmigiano Reggiano  which is an authentic parmesan cheese which in order to be a true Parmigiano  the cheese must be made with animal rennet."

 

 

Sharwood's Sweet Chilli Stir Fry Sauce 195g: contains fish
31/03/2014

It has been brought to our attention that Sharwood’s Sweet Chilli Stir Fry Sauce 195g is labelled as "suitable for vegetarians" yet contains fish sauce.

Sharwood's sent us the following comments:

"Regrettably, the statement 'suitable for vegetarians' printed on the label is incorrect and was caused by an unfortunate error during our artwork origination process. The Thai Fish Sauce used in this product is made using anchovies which are not suitable for a vegetarian diet.

The error was identified in October last year and steps taken to correct the labels immediately. All the stock of labels were quarantined and destroyed. Unfortunately, some stir fry sauce had already been produced using the incorrect label.  Our estimates were that the stock would have been sold in a matter of weeks. All stock produced since November will have been produced with the correct label."

All remaining eight Sharwood's stir fry sauces are suitable for vegetarians.

 

Online Community
Forums
E-newsletters
Sign-up to the site
E-cards
Quick polls

Join and Support Us
Join or renew online
Members' Area
Donate
Fundraising
Shop
Leave a legacy

 

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Fundraising Regulator logo
Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358 (England and Wales),
Registered Company No. 00959115 (England and Wales)

Google+ 



Privacy | | Contact | Press | Advertising | Jobs

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358, Registered Company No. 959115 (England and Wales)

Fundraising Regulations

//]]>