Which cheeses are not vegetarian?
- Parmesan cheese is never vegetarian. Cheeses from a specific location need to follow a consistent recipe to be recognised as having specific names. In the case of Parmigiano-Reggiano, or Parmesan cheese, this means always using animal rennet.
- Grana Padano
- Gorgonzola. You can substitute blue cheese with alternatives such as vegetarian Dolcelatte.
What you need to know...
The key ingredient to watch out for in cheese is animal rennet. Food labelling laws in the UK mean that labels do not always require processing agents to be listed, of which animal rennet is one.