Hints and tips for entertaining vegetarians

Whether it's a big family Christmas or a special dinner for two, there's no need to be daunted by the prospect of looking after your vegetarian guests.

 

  • Preparing pizzaVegetarians do not eat fish, so please don't offer us this. Someone who doesn't eat animals but does eat fish is called a pescatarian.

  • If you don’t want to prepare two separate meals for your guests why not make delicious vegetarian food for everyone? Tell the meat eaters that it’s an eco theme! Find out why a vegetarian diet is better for the environment

  • Don’t be shy of asking your vegetarian guest for help and advice. They will probably be pleased that you have asked them what they usually eat, and this will ensure they will enjoy the food you've prepared.

  • The Cordon Vert Cookery School regularly hosts an Entertaining Vegetarians workshop. Let the experts show you how.

  • Visit your local supermarket for inspiration, ideas or even a ready-prepared option.  Vegetarians don’t deliberately want to make catering for your guests difficult, and would happily eat a pre-made meal if this is the easiest option for you.

  • Not all alcoholic drinks are vegetarian, but the good news, if you are celebrating, is that Champagne usually is.  Check the label or ask in your off-licence to make sure. 

  • Roast potatoes should be cooked separately from the meat and in vegetable fat or oil.

  • Vegetarian gravy granules and mixes are readily available in supermarkets. The majority of commercially available stuffing mixes are suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

  • Olives might be an acquired taste, but the stuffed varieties filled with garlic or sun dried tomatoes can be favourites. Check you haven't got anchovies in them though; veggies don't eat fish.

  • Some canned orange drinks use gelatine as a carrier for added Beta Carotene (this would not appear on the ingredients panel). Look out for vegetarian labels or contact manufacturers' consumer helpline to find out if they're suitable for vegetarians.

  • Christmas biscuitsA lot of crisps are suitable for vegetarians but some often use whey as a flavour carrier so make sure you check the ingredients. 

  • Chocolate. Watch out for whey and emulsifiers.

  • Hummus is always a fab dip, but avoid Taramasalata as it has fish roe in it.

  • Christmas puddings and mince pies are no longer a problem for vegetarians since many brands now use vegetable suet. This doesn't affect the taste, so meat-eaters will enjoy them too. Some brands will also be suitable for vegans, look out for The Vegan Society symbol on packs.

  • You can make jelly for your trifle using vegetarian or vegan jelly crystals.

  • If you buy cocktail cherries check that they do not contain cochineal E120, which is made from crushed insects.
 

Online Community
Forums
E-newsletters
Sign-up to the site
E-cards
Quick polls

Join and Support Us
Join or renew online
Members' Area
Donate
Fundraising
Shop
Leave a legacy

 

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358, Registered Company No. 959115 (England and Wales)

Google+ 



Privacy | | Contact | Press | Advertising | Jobs

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358, Registered Company No. 959115 (England and Wales)