Food and drink fact sheets:


Fact sheet index

 

Alcohol

In this Fact Sheet: BeerCiderWine/Fortified WinesSpirits/LiqueursColorants and Vegetarian/Vegan Alcohol Availability


Many alcoholic drinks, such as beer and wine, will have been clarified/ stabilised (fined) using animal derived products, causing concern for vegetarians and vegans. Fining agents are used as a processing aid (as opposed to an additive) which means in theory none should remain in the final product; however this is impossible to guarantee.

bunch pf grapesOne of the problems faced in determining which products are suitable is due to current EC labelling regulations for alcoholic beverages which states that; “A complete list of ingredients in descending order by weight is currently only required for drinks with an alcoholic strength by volume (abv) of 1.2% or less.” This means that only very low or non-alcoholic beers, wines and ciders are required to list all ingredients.

Animal derived products used in the production of alcohol include; Albumin – derived from egg whites (may be caged eggs); Casein – Protein derived from milk; Chitin – derived from the shells of crabs, lobsters, etc; Gelatine – from bones and connective tissues of cows or pigs; Isinglass - obtained from fish swim bladders.

Next >  1 | 2

 

Online Community
Forums
E-newsletters
Sign-up to the site
E-cards
Quick polls

Join and Support Us
Join or renew online
Members' Area
Donate
Fundraising
Shop
Leave a legacy

 

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358, Registered Company No. 959115 (England and Wales)

Google+ 



Privacy | | Contact | Press | Advertising | Jobs

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358, Registered Company No. 959115 (England and Wales)



//]]>