We’d like veggies to have a nice cheesy smile on their face when eating out, watching cookery programmes or reading recipes – but there’s a problem: Often dishes and products claiming to be vegetarian use Parmesan.
Parmesan/Parmigiano-Reggiano is an EU Protected Designation of Origin product and has to be made using calf rennet, so it’s definitely not suitable for vegetarians.
Businesses, chefs, journalists and restaurant owners
Make sure your dishes are vegetarian:
- leave out the Parmesan/Parmigiano-Reggiano
- don’t call dishes using Parmesan/Parmigiano-Reggiano vegetarian
- use a vegetarian alternative
- label clearly, if you are using a vegetarian cheese be proud and say so.