Supermarket definitions

Vegetarian and vegan definitions:

“When we say suitable for vegetarians, the product and any ingredients used in the products, do not contain any animal products from animals that have died or been slaughtered. Products which state ‘vegetarian’ must not have come into contact with meat products, either as ingredients, during processing or once processed. Suppliers must have controls in place to ensure all ingredients used are suitable for vegetarians if their overall product is to state suitable for vegetarians. The supplier must also have in place controls to ensure there is no cross contamination between vegetarian and non-vegetarian products.”

Vegetarian and vegan definitions:
“A product suitable for vegetarians or vegans is one that either contains no ingredients of animal origin at all (vegan) or some ingredients of animal origin i.e. dairy, honey which a vegetarian would not believe had caused the animal any suffering.

We have a policy to try to ensure that all products that could be vegetarian are vegetarian i.e. by sourcing cheese that is suitable for vegetarians and not adding unnecessary animal based by products such as gelatine”.

Vegetarian and vegan definitions:
The definition of a vegetarian diet is one that does not include meat, poultry, game, fish or any by-products of animals, such as gelatine.

A vegan diet is entirely plant based including fruits, vegetables, beans, pulses, grains, nuts and seeds. Like vegetarians a vegan diet does not include any meat but in addition, vegans do not eat foods that have been derived from animals such as honey, eggs, milk.

Labelling:
We label foods that are suitable for vegetarians with our vegetarian logo on the front of pack.

Product lists:
Suitable for vegetarians

Suitable for vegans

Labelling:
“We do everything we possibly can at Morrison’s to look after our Customers well. We are fully aware that many of our Customers wish, for a variety of reasons, to avoid certain foods or food ingredients.  We try to accommodate this by ensuring that labels not only comply with statutory Legal requirements but are as helpful and informative as possible.“

Vegetarian and vegan definitions:
A vegetarian eats foods that are free from any ingredient derived from the slaughter of animals

A vegetarian therefore avoids eating any of the following;

Animal flesh (meat, fish, game, poultry, shellfish) including any derivatives and products including additives and processing aids. This includes:

 ~ Stock & bouillons made from animal flesh or bones (including in soups, sauces, prepared meals)
 ~ Blood or liquid products, such as squid ink, resulting from slaughter
 ~ Whey, where animal rennet has been used in the cheese-making.
 ~ Animal fats (lard, suet, dripping) either as an ingredient or for greasing pans, etc.
 ~ Additives originating from the killing of animals (including insects) e.g. cochineal (E120)

Labelling:
Sainsbury’s policy is to label all products that are suitable for vegetarians, as “suitable for vegetarians” or “suitable for vegetarians and vegans”, using the Sainsbury's vegetarian and vegan logos.

The only exceptions are those products that are obviously vegetarian and where our customers have indicated that labelling is unnecessary for example plain waters, unseasoned flours, plain fruit and vegetables.

Product lists:
Suitable for Vegetarians

Suitable for Vegans

Vegetarian and vegan definitions:
Lacto-Ovo Vegetarians – those who do not eat meat, fish or poultry, but do eat eggs and milk.
Vegan – those who avoid all animal products, including honey.

Labelling:
"We follow the Food Standards Agency guidance and so ‘suitable for vegetarians’ is not be applied to foods that are, or are made from or with the aid of products derived from animals that have died, have been slaughtered, or animals that die as a result of being eaten.

“Animals” means farmed, wild or domestic animals, including for example, livestock poultry, game, fish, shellfish, crustaceans, amphibians, tunicates, echinoderms, molluscs and insects.

Products do however include milk, eggs and honey. We cannot guarantee that all eggs - dried, fresh or egg products in our processed foods have come from free-range eggs.

‘Suitable for vegans’ is not applied to foods that are, or are made from or with the aid of animals or animal products (including products from living animals). I.e. these foods would exclude milk, eggs and honey.

We ensure that suppliers have controls in place to confirm that any ingredients used in vegetarian products are suitable and meet the guidance above and that there is no cross-contamination during production between vegetarian and non-vegetarian products.

Suitable products are clearly labelled either on the front or back of pack unless the suitability is obvious. We also produce lists of products which can be obtained from Customer Services or downloaded.

You can find more information here.

Vegetarian and vegan definitions:
Lacto-ovo vegetarians follow the standard vegetarian diet, which avoids all meat, poultry and fish, as well as meat-derived products such as gelatine, but includes dairy products and eggs.

Lacto-vegetarians eat dairy products but avoid eggs, meat, fish, poultry and meat-derived products.

Ovo-vegetarians eat eggs but avoid dairy products, all meat, fish, poultry and meat-derived products.

Vegans do not include eggs, dairy, honey, meat, fish, poultry, meat-derived products or any other animal products in their diet. 

 

Online Community
Forums
E-newsletters
Sign-up to the site
E-cards
Quick polls

Join and Support Us
Join or renew online
Members' Area
Donate
Fundraising
Shop
Leave a legacy

 

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358 (England and Wales), Registered Company No. 00959115 (England and Wales)

Google+ 



Privacy | | Contact | Press | Advertising | Jobs

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358, Registered Company No. 959115 (England and Wales)