Veggie aware A-Z

In this Fact Sheet: A-M, N-Z


Things to look out for if you are a vegetarian/vegan


• Additives – see E-Numbers
• Albumen – found in egg whites, used as a food binder. May come from caged/barn eggs, see Laying Hens
• Alcohol – some drinks are fined/clarified using animal ingredients, see Alcohol
• Alpaca – animal derived clothing material, see Clothing
• Ambergris – obtained from the intestine of sperm whale, used in perfumes.
• Anchovies - small fish, found on pizzas and in some brands of Worcester sauce.
• Angora - rabbit derived clothing material, see Clothing
• Animal Fat – rendered tissue fats obtained from a variety of animals.
• Aspic - savoury jelly derived from meat or fish, used as a glazing agent.

• Bone - used in bone china and cutlery handles.
• Bread - most large producers use vegetable based emulsifiers (E471, E472 etc), but local bakers may not.
• Breakfast cereals - often fortified with vitamin D3.
• Bristles – stiff animal hair, used in brushes (paint/shaving)
• Butter - Unadulterated butter is suitable for vegetarians.

• Capsules - usually made from gelatine, vegetarian alternatives are becoming widely available.
• Cashmere - Animal derived clothing material, see Clothing.
• Catering/Cookery - training may require the handling of meat, see Vegetarian Society Cookery School
• Caviar/Roe Fish eggs - the fish must be killed to obtain the eggs.
• Cheese - may have been produced using animal rennet, see Cheese Production
• Chips - may have been fried in animal fat.
• Chitin - produced from crab & shrimp shells.
• Chocolate – may contain whey/emulsifiers, see Cheese Production & E-Numbers.
• Cochineal E120 - made from crushed insects, see E-Numbers.
• Crisps – Can contain whey powder which may be derived using animal rennet, see Cheese Production.

• Down - from slaughtered ducks/geese or live plucking, see Clothing.
• Dripping – melted animal fat, used for frying.

• E Numbers - European food additive numbering system, not all are vegetarian, see E-Numbers.
• Eggs - some vegetarians may wish to avoid battery eggs and/or barn eggs. The Vegetarian Society does not approve products containing eggs other than those free range, see Vegsoc Approved
• Emulsifiers – may not be vegetarian, see E-Numbers.

• Fast Food - Bean/Vegetable burgers may be cooked alongside meat/fish products.
• Fatty Acids - may be of animal or vegetable origin, see E-Numbers
• Feathers - see Clothing
• Felt - made from wool/fur, see Clothing
• Fig - A fruit. Some varieties are pollinated by fig wasps, which then die inside the fruit. The fig plant then absorbs the wasp. This process is a natural part of the fig plant’s lifecycle. Some of the most commonly available varieties of figs, however, do not require pollination (e.g. Kadota and Black Mission). 
 Fur - see Clothing

• Gelatin(e) - a gelling agent derived from animal ligaments, skins, tendons, bones etc.
• Glycerine/Glycerol – see E-numbers - 422
• Gravy - vegetarian gravy mixes are available.

• Honey- avoided by vegans.

• Ice Cream – may contain whey powder, non-dairy fats, E-numbers, eggs.
• Isinglass – a fining agent derived from the swim bladders of certain tropical fish, see Alcohol.

• Jelly – may contain gelatine.

• Lactose - produced from milk, see Cattle
• Lanolin - produced from sheep's wool. Used to make vitamin D3, see Sheep
• Leather – see Clothing
• Lecithin – mostly produced from soya beans, can be produced from eggs, see Laying Hens

• Margarines – may contain animal fats, fish oils, vitamin D3, E-numbers, whey, gelatine.
• Mohair - animal derived clothing material, see Clothing

Next> 1 | 2


Online Community
Sign-up to the site
Quick polls

Join and Support Us
Join or renew online
Members' Area
Leave a legacy


The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Fundraising Regulator logo
Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358 (England and Wales),
Registered Company No. 00959115 (England and Wales)


Privacy | | Contact | Press | Advertising | Jobs

The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Limited, Parkdale, Dunham Road, Altrincham WA14 4QG
Registered Charity No. 259358, Registered Company No. 959115 (England and Wales)

Fundraising Regulations